News | Washington Commanders -

HoF Vote '06: Monk, Grimm Passed Over

In a disappointing outcome for Redskins fans, Art Monk and Russ Grimm were passed over in the voting for induction into the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

The Hall of Fame's Selection Committee, consisting of a group comprised of 39 journalists across the country, convened on Saturday morning in Detroit to vote for the 2006 class.

After lengthy discussions of each of the 15 Hall of Fame finalists, the Selection Committee first reduced the list to 10. Monk and Grimm were not among the final 10.

In the end, the 2006 inductees were as follows:

  • Quarterback Troy Aikman
  • Linebacker Harry Carson
  • Head coach/TV broadcaster John Madden
  • Quarterback Warren Moon
  • Defensive end Reggie White
  • Offensive lineman Rayfield Wright

Monk has been a finalist for the Hall of Fame each of the last three years, but has fallen short each year.

"Art Monk has earned a place in the Hall of Fame. Redskins fans know it, NFL fans know it, and it is long overdue for the Hall of Fame electors to confirm it," said Redskins owner Daniel M. Snyder.

Monk's exclusion from the Hall of Fame has become somewhat controversial as wide receivers with lesser statistics--particularly Dallas Cowboys' Michael Irvin--become eligible and gain support for induction into the Hall of Fame.

Irvin was a finalist for the Hall of Fame this year, but he also did not garner enough votes for induction.

In 16 seasons--his first 14 with the Redskins--Monk caught 940 passes for 12,721 yards and 68 touchdowns. A three-time Pro Bowler, he became the league's all-time leading receiver in a Monday Night game against Denver on Oct. 12, 1992, with his 820th reception. (He has since been surpassed by a host of players.)

Monk also holds numerous team records, including most career receptions, most career receiving yards, most receptions in a single game and most receptions in a season.

It's the second year in a row that Grimm has fallen short for the Hall of Fame. Grimm played center and guard for the Redskins from 1981-91 and earned four consecutive trips to the Pro Bowl from 1983-86. Grimm was also named to the NFL's All-Decade Team for the 1980s.

He was an original member of "The Hogs," Joe Bugel's dominating group of offensive linemen who set the tone for the offense during the decade.

Grimm is currently serving as assistant head coach-offense line coach with the Pittsburgh Steelers.

For more background on Grimm and Monk, as well as other Redskins greats through the years, visit's70 Greatest Redskins page.

Monk and Grimm were both integral in leading the Washington Redskins to three Super Bowl championships in 1982, 1987 and 1991. Running back John Riggins and head coach Joe Gibbs remain the only two Redskins from the team's Super Bowl era who have been inducted into the Hall of Fame.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content