Skip to main content

News | Washington Commanders -

Charlie Brown Elected To South Carolina Football Hall Of Fame


Former Redskins wide receiver Charlie Brown was elected into the South Carolina Football Hall of Fame on Monday, joining "Doc" Blanchard, Fisher DeBarry, Levon Kirland and Dick Sheridan.

The enshrinement ceremony is set for the evening of April 20, 2017, at the Hyatt Regency in downtown Greenville, S.C.

The Redskins drafted the Charleston, S.C., native in the eighth round from South Carolina State in 1981. Brown went to the Pro Bowl in each of his first two seasons in Washington, helping the team secure its first Super Bowl victory in 1982.

After three years with the Redskins, Brown played three more years with the Falcons, and would eventually move on to play a year in the Arena Football League with the Washington Commandos.

In his rookie year, Brown caught 32 passes for 690 yards and eight touchdowns in a strike-shortened nine games. He caught a six-yard touchdown pass from quarterback Joe Theismann in the fourth quarter of Super Bowl XVII, effectively sealing the team's 27-17 victory over the Dolphins.

The next year he returned to the Pro Bowl, recording career highs by catching 78 passes for 1,225 yards and eight touchdowns in 15 games. He finished his NFL career with 220 receptions for 3,548 yeards and 25 touchdowns.

According to the Hall of Fame's press release, Brown "has held multiple free football camps for the underprivileged youth. The camps are sponsored by the Brown-McCrone Foundation, and our coached by Brown, local coaches, and former and current NFL players. He plans on expanding the camps to other communities outside of the lowcountry in the future."

The mission of the South Carolina Football Hall Of Fame, which began in 2013, is to honor South Carolina football legends, support player career transitions, improve player safety, and promote the game of football and South Carolina. It considers eligibility based on anyone who has played, coached, wrote about or otherwise supported football and either did so in South Carolina or is a native of South Carolina.

The SCFHOF has inducted 20 football greats in its four-class history, all of which have South Carolina ties. In 2016, Clemson quarterback Deshaun Watson became the third player to receive the Collegiate Player of the Year Award after leading the Tigers to the National Championship game. 

Brian Dawkins, Dan Reeves, Art Shell and William "The Refrigerator" Perry are several notable players inducted in recent years.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content