Skip to main content

News | Washington Commanders -

Redskins Name Tackle Morgan Moses As Team's Ed Block Courage Award Recipient


LOUDOUN COUNTY, Va. – The Washington Redskins announced today that they have named tackle Morgan Moses the winner of the team's 2015 Ed Block Courage Award. The honor is given annually to a player from each National Football League team who displays extraordinary courage in the face of adversity.

Moses has started all eight games at right tackle for the Redskins this year in his second NFL season. Last season, he appeared in eight games with one start after being selected by the Redskins in third round (66th overall) of the 2014 NFL Draft. His rookie season ended prematurely after he sustained a Lisfranc injury to his left foot, requiring surgery in December 2014.

Despite being limited while rehabbing during the team's 2015 offseason program, Moses earned the starting right tackle job with a strong training camp performance in his hometown of Richmond, Va. This season, Moses has contributed to the Redskins' ranking first in the NFC and tied for first in the NFL in fewest sacks allowed (nine).

"Morgan spent the offseason rehabbing with us after surgery, worked really hard in rehab and was able to come back for full clearance at the start of training camp at the end of July. He was able to return back to the field and compete for a starting position," Redskins Head Athletic Trainer Larry Hess said. "To go from being a backup last year – a rookie – and sustain a significant injury to his left foot and then be able to return to the field and earn our starting right tackle position is a testament to his hard work and dedication."

The Courage Award is named after Ed Block, the longtime head athletic trainer of the Baltimore Colts who was a pioneer in his profession and a respected humanitarian. The inaugural Ed Block Courage Award was presented in 1978 to Baltimore Colts defensive end Joe Ehrmann. Following the Colts' departure from Baltimore in 1984, the scope of the award expanded to include one player from every team in the NFL.    


  • 2015: Morgan Moses
  • 2014: Keenan Robinson
  • 2013: Robert Griffin III
  • 2012: Kory Lichtensteiger
  • 2011: Stephen Bowen
  • 2010: Ma'ake Kemoeatu
  • 2009: Phillip Daniels
  • 2008: Reed Doughty
  • 2007: Marcus Washington
  • 2006: Randy Thomas
  • 2005: Khary Campbell
  • 2004: Brandon Noble
  • 2003: Fred Smoot
  • 2002: Chris Samuels
  • 2001: Cory Raymer
  • 2000: James Thrash
  • 1999: Tre' Johnson
  • 1998: Darrell Green
  • 1997: James Jenkins
  • 1996: Ed Simmons
  • 1995: Keith Taylor
  • 1994: Mark Schlereth
  • 1993: Art Monk
  • 1992: Anthony Johnson
  • 1991: Donnie Warren
  • 1990: Joe Jacoby
  • 1989: Neil Olkewicz
  • 1988: Doug Williams
  • 1987: Mel Kaufman
  • 1986: Darryl Grant
  • 1985: Ken Huff
  • 1984: Mark May




This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content