Skip to main content

News | Washington Commanders -

Mike Nelms Will Be Inducted Into D.C. Sports Hall Of Fame


Three-time Pro Bowler and Super Bowl champion Mike Nelms, a defensive back and return specialist with the Redskins, will be inducted into the Washington, D.C., Sports Hall Of Fame on July 9.

Nelms was one of the most prolific kick returners in history, playing for five seasons for the Redskins from 1980-84, in which he won a Super Bowl and went to three consecutive Pro Bowls from 1980-82. He amassed more than 6,000 yards returning and is part of the 80 Greatest Redskins list.

He joins a list of inductees that includes five-time Olympic gold medalist Katie Ledecky, former NFL commissioner Paul Tagliabue, Maryland men's basketball legends Juan Dixon and Tom McMillen, Maryland women's basketball Coach Brenda Frese, retired D.C. broadcaster Glenn Harris, former Washington Post columnist Tony Kornheiser and former Capitals play-by-play announcer Ron Weber.

"This year's inductees have clearly earned their places in joining the list of luminaries who have represented the Nation's Capital region so admirably through their excellence and accomplishments in sports," D.C. Sports Hall of Fame committee chairman Bobby Goldwater said.

After retiring from the NFL, Nelms entered the automobile dealership business and is now Vice President of Communications at the Childress Agency, a web design and marketing company.

Last year, former Redskins defensive lineman Dexter Manley and former radio broadcaster Frank Herzog were inducted, while former Redskins safety and defensive coordinator Richie Petitbon was inducted in 2015.

Redskins greats Darrell Green, Russ Grimm, Chris Hanburger, Ken Houston, Art Monk and Mark Moseley are just several of many Redskins in the D.C. Sports Hall Of Fame. 

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content