Skip to main content

News | Washington Commanders -

Randy Jordan set to represent Commanders at 2023 NFL Coach Accelerator


Washington Commanders head coach Randy Jordan has been named as one of 40 participants to appear at the NFL's second annual Coach Accelerator program as part of the league's efforts to exposure between owners, executives, and diverse coaching talent.

The event, which will take place at the Spring League Meeting in Minneapolis on May 21-23. The participants are attending based on their high potential to be considered for a head coach position in the future. Jordan is one of 16 participants who will be returning from the May 2022 Accelerator cohort.

Jordan, who is a nine-year NFL veteran as a player from 1993-2002 with the Raiders and Jaguars, is entering his 21st season in the NFL and 11th season as the Commanders' running back coach. He has helped several young running backs develop during his years with the Burgundy & Gold, one of the most recent being Antonio Gibson, who led the NFC in rushing attempts with 258 and finished second with 1,037 rushing yards in 2021.

Last year, Jordan helped Brian Robinson led the Commanders with 797 yards on 205 carries after the 2022 third-round pick missed four games while recovering from gunshot wounds. The Commanders finished 12th in rushing in 2022, averaging 126.1 yards per game.

In addition to networking, further development of the participants is a critical component of the accelerator, with curated content sessions scheduled that will further engage each participant on the advancement of their executive leadership skills and business acumen.

"In the year since its inception, we've been encouraged by the positive response to the Accelerator from both club owners and participants," said NFL Commissioner Roger Goodell. "We look forward to continuing to build on an incredible program that supports diverse talent."

Here is the full list of attendants.

Table inside Article
Coach Team
Teryl Austin Pittsburgh Steelers
Chris Beatty Los Angeles Chargers
Marcus Brady Philadelphia Eagles
Callie Brownson Cleveland Browns
Mike Caldwell Jacksonville Jaguars
DeMarcus Covington New England Patriots
Ronald Curry New Orleans Saints
Matt Daniels Minnesota Vikings
Sean Desai Philadelphia Eagles
Tony Dews Tennessee Titans
Aden Durde Dallas Cowboys
Jon Embree Miami Dolphins
Leslie Frazier --
Jerry Gray Atlanta Falcons
Pep Hamilton --
Richard Hightower Chicago Bears
Frisman Jackson Pittsburgh Steelers
Brian Johnson Philadelphia Eagles
Jerrod Johnson Houston Texans
Randy Jordan Washington Commanders
Kerry Joseph Seattle Seahawks
Cato June Indianapolis Colts
Thaddeus Lewis Tampa Bay Buccaneers
Charles London Tennessee Titans
Anthony Lynn San Francisco 49ers
Keenan McCardell Minnesota Vikings
Thomas McGaughey New York Giants
Dave Merritt Kansas City Chiefs
Scottie Montgomery Detroit Lions
Jeff Nixon New York Giants
Tony Oden New York Jets
Christian Parker Denver Broncos
Aubrey Pleasant Los Angeles Rams
Kris Richard --
Kelly Skipper Buffalo Bills
Willie Taggart Baltimore Ravens
Drew Terrell Arizona Cardinals
Troy Walters Cincinnati Bengals
Joe Whitt Jr. Dallas Cowboys
Greg Williams Green Bay Packers

Related Content