Skip to main content

News | Washington Commanders -

Taking A Look At The History Of The No. 21 Pick


From Lynn Swann to Randy Moss and current players contributing in the NFL today, has a look at the players selected with the 21st pick over the years.

"There's going to be a good football player there, no matter what," Washington Redskins general manager Scot McCloughan said at his interview with the media at January's Senior Bowl in Mobile, Ala.

Indeed, while the Redskins aren't selecting in the top five this year like they did last year when they picked Brandon Scherff, there will still be quite a bit of talent on the board when the team is on the clock at No. 21.

This year's class is deep, especially with the talent projected to be mid- to late-round picks.

"I feel very confident that at 21 we'll get a good football player," McCloughan said. "A really good football player come in his first year and help us."

With the 2016 NFL Draft set to start tonight, we're looking back at the history of the No. 21-overall pick.

--2015-Cedric Ogbuehi
--2014-Ha Ha Clinton-Dix
--2013-Tyler Eifert
--2012-Chandler Jones
--2011-Phil Taylor
--2010-Jermaine Gresham
--2009-Alex Mack
--2008-Sam Baker
--2007-Reggie Nelson
--2006-Laurence Maroney
--2005-Matt Jones
--2004-Vince Wilfork
--2003-Jeff Faine
--2002-Daniel Graham
--2001-Nate Clements
--2000-Sylvester Morris
--1999-L.J. Shelton
--1998-Randy Moss
--1997-Renaldo Wynn
--1996-Pete Kendall
--1995-Rashaan Salaam

--1994-Johnnie Morton
--1993-Robert Smith
--1992-Vaughn Dunbar
--1991-Harvey Williams
--1990-Eric Green
--1989-Bill Hawkins
--1988-Clifford Charlton
--1987-Roger Vick
--1986-Tim McGee
--1985-Jerry Gray
--1984-John Alt
--1983-Gaberiel Rivera
--1982-Gerald Willhite
--1981-Ted Watts
--1980-Don McNeal
--1979-Jerry Robinson
--1978-Randy Holloway
--1977-Robin Cole
--1976-Tim Fox
--1975-Tim Gray
--1974-Lynn Swann
--1973-Barry Smith
--1972-Mike Siani
--1971-Bob Bell
--1970-Bob McKay
--1969-Bob Klein
--1968-Marvin Upshaw (NFL)
--1967-John Charles (AFL)
--1966-Walter Barnes (NFL)
--1965-Bob Breitenstein (NFL)
--1965-Mike Curtis (AFL)
--1964-Billy Martin (NFL)

--1963-Walt Rock (NFL)
--1962-Bennie McRae (NFL)
--1961-Tom Gilburg (NFL)
--1960-Sam Horner (NFL)
--1959-Richie Petitbon
--1958-Bobby Jack Oliver
--1957-Joe Walton
--1956-Dick Donlin
--1955-Frank Morze
--1954-Rocky Ryan
--1953-George Morris
--1952-Darrel 'Pete' Brewster
--1951-Jim Stanton
--1950-Jack Jennings
--1949-Dick McKissack
--1948-Dub Garrett
--1947-Don Paul
--1946-Bob Nussbaumer
--1945-W.G. 'Dub' Wooten
--1944-Clyde Flowers
--1943-Dewey Proctor
--1942-Rufus Deal
--1941-Bob Paffrath
--1940-Bill Fisk
--1939-John Wysocki
--1938-Pete Smith
--1937- Drew Ellis
--1936-Bobby Grayson

Here's a gallery looking back at some of the players the Redskins have taken in the first-round of the NFL Draft through the years.

In 2014, the Green Bay Packers selected safety Ha Ha Clinton-Dix with the 21st pick after he was selected as a consensus All-American in 2013. In his two seasons in Green Bay, Clinton-Dix has appeared in all 32 of the Packers' regular season games, totaling 192 tackles with nine passes defensed, four sacks and three interceptions.

Tight end Tyler Eifert was selected to his first Pro Bowl after the 2015 season after leading all tight ends in touchdowns with 13. In his three seasons since being selected with the No. 21-overall pick in 2013, Eifert has totaled 1,097 yards and 15 touchdowns on 94 receptions.

Chandler Jones, recently traded from the New England to the Arizona Cardinals, was selected with the No. 21-overall pick in 2012 out of Syracuse was selected to the Pro Bowl this year. In his four-year stint with the Patriots, Jones totaled 36 sacks including a career-high 12.5 last season.

Alex Mack is regarded as one of the top centers in the NFL and has been since being selected 21st-overall in 2009. A three-time Pro Bowler and 2013 second-team All-Pro, Mack joined the Falcons this season after seven years with the Cleveland Browns.

Now a member of the Houston Texans, Vince Wilfork made quite the name for himself as a member of the Patriots over 11 seasons. Even at 34 years old, Wilfork remains one of the best interior defensive linemen in the NFL.

In 1998, the Minnesota Vikings selected Randy Moss with the No. 21-overall pick despite some steering clear of the Marshall wide receiver due to off-field issues. On the field, Moss pieced together one of the best NFL careers by a wide receiver, as he collected 982 receptions for 15,292 yards and 156 touchdowns.

Moss recorded 10 1,000-yard seasons and totaled at least 10 touchdowns in another nine times.

In 1974, the Pittsburgh Steelers selected Lynn Swann at No. 21 in the NFL Draft. He became one of the best at his position in league history. A 2001 Pro Football Hall of Fame inductee, Swann helped the Steelers earn four Super Bowl titles while being selected to the Pro Bowl three times.




This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content