Skip to main content

News | Washington Commanders -

Keenan Robinson Earns Team's Ed Block Award

Go behind the scenes as Redskins linebacker Keenan Robinson goes in front of the camera for his 2014 photo shoot.

The Washington Redskins announced today that they have named linebacker Keenan Robinson the winner of the team's 2014 Ed Block Courage Award.

The honor is given annually to a player from each National Football League team who displays extraordinary courage in the face of adversity.

Robinson has started all nine games for the Redskins this season, compiling a team-high 75 tackles (49 solo), according to NFL GSIS, with 1.5 sacks, one forced fumble, one fumble recovery and one interception.

In Week 7, Robinson earned NFC Defensive Player of the Week honors following a performance in which he posted a career-high and game-high 14 tackles in a win against the Tennessee Titans, becoming the first Redskins linebacker to earn the honor since Brian Orakpo in Week 4 of the 2011 season.

Robinson's standout performance in 2014 comes after consecutive campaigns in which pectoral tears ended his 2012 and 2013 seasons prematurely. In his rookie year in 2012, Robinson's season ended after he tore his right pectoral during a Thanksgiving Day win against the Dallas Cowboys. The following season, he suffered a tear to his left pectoral in training camp.

"After his second surgery in two years, Keenan knew what it took to work hard since he had just gotten done rehabbing from his right pec and was disappointed to tear his left pec. He worked hard again, missing another season, and put in time and effort throughout the whole 2013 season, rehabbing in the offseason as well. He came back at full strength and ready to go for 2014," Redskins Head Athletic Trainer Larry Hess said. "He has played at a high level as the starting middle linebacker. He continues to work hard and just really showed a lot of dedication and determination coming back on the field after sustaining two season ending injuries back-to-back."

The Courage Award is named after Ed Block, the longtime head athletic trainer of the Baltimore Colts who was a pioneer in his profession and a respected humanitarian. 

The inaugural Ed Block Courage Award was presented in 1978 to Baltimore Colts defensive end Joe Ehrmann. Following the Colts' departure from Baltimore in 1984, the scope of the award expanded to include one player from every team in the NFL.    

"This is definitely an honor to be chosen by my teammates." Robinson said. "I put a lot of work in during the last two seasons to get back from these two injuries. I'm just glad I'm now able to contribute to this team."


  • 2014: Keenan Robinson
  • 2013: Robert Griffin III
  • 2012: Kory Lichtensteiger
  • 2011: Stephen Bowen
  • 2010: Ma'ake Kemoeatu
  • 2009: Phillip Daniels
  • 2008: Reed Doughty
  • 2007: Marcus Washington
  • 2006: Randy Thomas
  • 2005: Khary Campbell
  • 2004: Brandon Noble
  • 2003: Fred Smoot
  • 2002: Chris Samuels
  • 2001: Cory Raymer
  • 2000: James Thrash
  • 1999: Tre' Johnson
  • 1998: Darrell Green
  • 1997: James Jenkins
  • 1996: Ed Simmons
  • 1995: Keith Taylor
  • 1994: Mark Schlereth
  • 1993: Art Monk
  • 1992: Anthony Johnson
  • 1991: Donnie Warren
  • 1990: Joe Jacoby
  • 1989: Neil Olkewicz
  • 1988: Doug Williams
  • 1987: Mel Kaufman
  • 1986: Darryl Grant
  • 1985: Ken Huff
  • 1984: Mark May




This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content