Skip to main content

News | Washington Commanders -

Rewarding Moments In Redskins History: 70 Greatest Honored


In today's Rewarding Moments In Redskins History presented by Maryland Lottery My Lottery Rewards, we look back at the 70 Greatest Redskins being recognized in the midst of a 2002 victory over the Colts.*

In the spirit of the Redskins' Homecoming Alumni Weekend, we look back to another one, Oct. 27, 2002, when the 70 Greatest Redskins were honored at halftime of the team's 26-21 victory over the Colts on national TV.



]( group, composed of 67 players and three coaches, participated in a weekend of activities, and spanned all 70 years of the team's history, back to offensive lineman Turk Edwards on the first team in Boston, to Darrell Green, playing in the twilight of his career then.

"Seems like those years were the biggest part of my life," said Slingin' Sammy Baugh, who couldn't make the event.

To be considered by the panel, which chose the collection of personnel, player and coaches had to have been with the Redskins for at least three seasons and any current team member must have played at least 10 years with the team.

"Quite frankly, it's an honor for me," said owner Dan Snyder at the time, "and it's a chance to raise money for the community."

The proceeds from a gala during the weekend benefited a Youth Development Program, designed to help high school athletes as well as renovate and upgrade 10 area high school fields.

"The recognition is what you play for," Sam Huff said. "I know it's what I played for. In high school, I wanted to make the all-county team and then all-state. It never entered my mind to make all-American in college, because that was too far in the future. Then all that comes to you, in the ultimate team sport. And to be one of the all-time players in the history of a franchise is very rewarding."

As far as the game, the Redskins won by a final of 26-21, as Shane Matthews outperformed Peyton Manning in their head-to-head matchup. 


Commanders select Christian Holmes with No. 240 overall pick

The Oklahoma State cornerback garnered All-Big 12 honors in 2021.