Skip to main content

News | Washington Commanders -

Rewarding Moments In Redskins History: Redskins Send Eight To Pro Bowl Following Super Bowl Victory


In today's Rewarding Moments In Redskins History presented by

Maryland Lottery My Lottery Rewards*, we look back at the Redskins sending eight players to the Pro Bowl after their Super Bowl XXVI victory.

USA Today recently ranked the 1991 Washington Redskins as the best Super Bowl team in history, and it's easy to see why.




They ran through teams during the regular season, compiling a 14-2 record, before getting out of the NFC side of the playoff bracket with ease.

In Super Bowl XXVI, the Redskins defeated the Buffalo Bills 37-24 in a game that showed just how complete that Washington team was.

A week after winning the Super Bowl, the Redskins set a club record by sending eight players to the Pro Bowl.

Tackle Jim Lachey along with cornerback Darrell Green and quarterback Mark Rypien were selected as starters.

Wide receiver Gary Clark, kicker Chip Lohmiller, defensive end Charles Mann, running back Earnest Byner, and guard Mark Schlereth were also selected to participate.

Rypien would complete 11 of 18 passes for 165 yards and two touchdowns, while Byner would get just one carry.




This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content