Skip to main content

News | Washington Commanders -

Rewarding Moments In Redskins History: Redskins Send Franchise-Record 8 Players To 1992 Pro Bowl


In today's Rewarding Moments In Redskins History presented by Maryland Lottery My Lottery Rewards, we look back to when the Redskins had eight players compete for the NFC team in the Pro Bowl on Feb. 2, 1992.

The fun did not stop for the Washington Redskins following a third Super Bowl championship in 1992.

A week after their 37-24 win over the Buffalo Bills in Super Bowl XXVI, the Redskins sent a franchise-record eight players to Honolulu, Hawaii for the Pro Bowl.

Quarterback Mark Rypien, tackle Jim Lachey, cornerback Darrell Green and kicker Chip Lohmiller all started for the NFC team, while running back Earnest Byner, wide receiver Gary Clark, guard Mark Schlereth and defensive end Charles Mann were selected as reserves. But together, they helped the NFC secure a 21-15 win over the AFC.

"There's a real rivalry here," Rypien said in a story that appeared in the Toledo Blade in 1992. "Even though we had fun during the week, that goes by the wayside on Sunday."

Coming off a Super Bowl MVP performance against the Bills, Rypien nearly won another MVP award after completing 11 of his 18 passes for 165 yards and two touchdowns in the Pro Bowl. The honor ultimately went to Dallas Cowboys receiver Michael Irvin, who made eight receptions for 125 yards and caught one of Rypien's touchdown passes.

"Being on the winning side makes the trip back to Washington D.C.] a little easier," **[Rypien said.**

Related Content