Skip to main content

News | Washington Commanders -

Three Redskins Named To 2018 Pro Bowl

LOUDOUN COUNTY, Va. – The National Football League announced this evening that linebacker Ryan Kerrigan, guard Brandon Scherff and tackle Trent Williams have been selected to the 2018 Pro Bowl. The annual contest of the NFL's best will take place Sunday, Jan. 28, 2018, at Camping World Stadium in Orlando, Fla.

In addition, linebacker Zach Brown and cornerback Josh Norman were selected as alternates.

Including five selections last season, the Redskins have now produced at least three Pro Bowl players in back-to-back seasons for the first time since the 2012-13 campaigns. Along the offensive line, Scherff and Williams become the first Redskins offensive line duo collectively named to the Pro Bowl in consecutive seasons since the duo of Russ Grimm and Joe Jacoby earned selections four straight times following the 1983-86 seasons.

Kerrigan's selection is his second straight and the third of his career (2012, 2016-17). His selection marks the seventh time in the last nine years that a Redskins linebacker has earned Pro Bowl honors. He becomes the first Redskins linebacker to earn back-to-back Pro Bowl honors since London Fletcher earned four consecutive selections following the 2009-12 seasons.

Kerrigan, 29, has started all 110 regular season games for Washington since being selected with the No. 16 overall pick in the 2011 NFL Draft. His 110 consecutive starts are the longest active streak among NFL linebackers. For his career, he has recorded 67.5 sacks, third-most by a member of the Redskins since the NFL adopted sacks as an official statistic in 1982. With one more sack this season, Kerrigan can become the first member of the Redskins to record consecutive double-digit sack seasons since Dexter Manley and Charles Mann both accomplished the feat across the 1985-86 seasons.

Scherff's selection is his second straight and the second of his career (2016-17). He becomes the first Redskins interior lineman to earn multiple Pro Bowl selections since Pro Football Hall of Fame guard Russ Grimm's streak of four consecutive Pro Bowl honors from 1983-86.

Scherff, 25, has started 44 of the 46 regular season games played by Washington since being selected with the fifth overall pick of the 2015 NFL Draft. With two more starts this season, Scherff can join Jon Jansen and Chris Samuels as the only offensive linemen since the 1970 AFL-NFL merger to start at least 14 games for Washington in each of their first three NFL seasons.

Williams' selection is the sixth of his career (2012-17) and his sixth consecutive selection since 2012. His selection this season is the 19th by a Redskins offensive tackle since the 1970 AFL-NFL merger, including selections by Chris Samuels (2001-02, 05-08), Jim Lachey (1990-91), Mark May (1988) and Joe Jacoby (1983-86). Between Williams and Samuels, Redskins left tackles have been selected to 10 of the last 13 Pro Bowls.

With his sixth consecutive selection, Williams joins safety Ken Houston (seven straight from 1973-79) and center Len Hauss (six straight from 1967-72) as the only members of the Redskins to earn six consecutive Pro Bowl selections. Williams now ties Hauss and Samuels for the fifth-most total selections in team history.

Williams, 29, is in his seventh season as an offensive captain for the Redskins and has been among the league's top left tackles since being selected with the No. 4 overall pick in the 2010 NFL Draft. He has played 107 career regular season games with the Redskins with 106 starts.

With the selections of Kerrigan, Scherff and Williams this year, the Redskins have now had at least one Pro Bowl player for 24 straight seasons. The only year Washington has not had a Pro Bowler in the game's history was 1993. 

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content