Skip to main content

News | Washington Commanders -

Daron Payne Named To PFWA 2018 All-Rookie Team


For the second consecutive year, the Redskins selected an Alabama defensive lineman in the first round of the 2018 NFL Draft. Their decision bolstered a young and growing defensive line, and as of Tuesday earned more validation.

Defensive lineman Daron Payne was named to the Pro Football Writers of America 2018 All-Rookie Team.

Payne joins Detroit's Da'Shawn Hand, Denver's Bradley Chubb and New Orleans' Marcus Davenport as the three rookie defensive linemen to make the team.

Payne had a strong rookie season, making 56 tackles, five sacks, one forced fumble and one fumble recovery. Of the defense's 1,033 snaps, Payne played 796, a testament to his durability and athleticism playing on multiple downs consecutively.

"I love playing football," Payne said during the season. "So, I have fun every day I come to work."

His presence was felt throughout the year, and some of his best games came in primetime, sacking quarterback Drew Brees and forcing a fumble on Monday night, while taking down Dak Prescott on Thanksgiving.

At 6-foot-2, 319 pounds, he impressed his former teammate Jonathan Allen thoroughly.

"Just his versatility. His ability to rush the passer, play the run and do it all on a consistent basis for 60 minutes," Allen said. "Just when you're that big and that strong and that fast, I mean, just makes it better. Really no secret to it to be honest."

Here's the entire PFWA All-Rookie team:


QB – Baker Mayfield, Cleveland Browns

RB – Saquon Barkley, New York Giants; Phillip Lindsay, Denver Broncos

WR – Calvin Ridley, Atlanta Falcons; DJ Moore, Carolina Panthers

TE – Chris Herndon, New York Jets

C – Billy Price, Cincinnati Bengals

G – Will Hernandez, New York Giants; Quenton Nelson, Indianapolis Colts

T – Mike McGlinchey, San Francisco 49ers; Braden Smith, Indianapolis Colts


DL – Bradley Chubb, Denver Broncos; Marcus Davenport, New Orleans Saints; Da'Shawn Hand, Detroit Lions; Daron Payne, Washington Redskins

LB – Darius Leonard, Indianapolis Colts; Roquan Smith, Chicago Bears; Leighton Vander Esch, Dallas Cowboys

CB – Jaire Alexander, Green Bay Packers, Denzel Ward, Cleveland Browns

S – Jessie Bates, Cincinnati Bengals; Derwin James, Los Angeles Chargers

Special Teams

PK – Jason Sanders, Miami Dolphins

P – Michael Dickson, Seattle Seahawks

KR – Tremon Smith, Kansas City Chiefs

PR – Christian Kirk, Arizona Cardinals

ST – Zeke Turner, Arizona Cardinals