Skip to main content

News | Washington Commanders -

Doughty Named Ed Block Courage Award Winner


Reed Doughty has been named the Redskins' recipient of the 2008 Ed Block Courage Award, the Redskins announced on Friday.

The honor, voted on by Doughty's teammates, is given annually to a player from each team who overcomes injury and displays courage in the face of adversity.

Doughty and his family have overcome several personal struggles in the last year and have shown great strength and resolve.

Doughty and his wife Katie have an infant son Micah who underwent a successful kidney transplant last March.

Reed also had season-ending back surgery last October and began his rehabilitation shortly thereafter.

Despite being placed on injured reserve, Doughty has been a regular at Redskins Park, encouraging his teammates through the season. He has helped tutor his replacement, rookie Chris Horton.


The Ed Block Courage Award is named after Ed Block, the longtime head athletic trainer of the Baltimore Colts.

Marcus Washington won the award last year.

Through the years, Redskins players such as Mark May, Darryl Grant, Doug Williams, Joe Jacoby, Don Warren, Art Monk, Mark Schlereth and Darrell Green have won the award.

In the last decade, James Thrash, Chris Samuels, Fred Smoot, Khary Campbell and Randy Thomas have won the award.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.