News | Washington Commanders -

Kirk Cousins Nominated For Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award


Kirk Cousins has been nominated for the third Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award, which will be selected based on current player vote and announced on Feb. 4, 2017.

Washington Redskins quarterback Kirk Cousins is one of 32 player nominees for the 2016 Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award.

Check out behind the scenes images from Quarterback, Kirk Cousins's 2016 Redskins Photo Shoot.

According to a press release from the NFL, the award is presented each year to a player who best demonstrates the qualities of on-field sportsmanship, including fair play, respect for the game and opponents, and integrity in competition.

Each NFL team nominated a player for the award, and Cousins will represent the Redskins.

The winner of the award will be determined by a vote of current NFL players. Additionally, a panel of former players from the NFL Legends Community will sit down and select eight finalists (four from each conference).

Those eight finalists will be listed on the Pro Bowl ballot under a "NFL Sportsmanship Award" category when the players sit down to make their selections for the annual all-star game. Each team's player will have to submit a consensus vote for their choice on the award.

The winner will be announced during the NFL Honors show on Saturday, Feb. 4 on FOX, the night before Super Bowl LI is played.

He will receive a $25,000 donation from the NFL Foundation to a charity of his choice.

Also, the winner will also receive a trophy that represents the important role that sportsmanship plays in the game and how players demonstrate integrity and honor on the field and serve as role models for football players at all levels.

Larry Fitzgerald of the Arizona Cardinals won the inaugural award while former Oakland Raiders safety Charles Woodson was the announced winner in 2015.

Below are all 32 nominees for the award:



Arizona Cardinals

DT Calais Campbell

Atlanta Falcons

FB Patrick DiMarco

Baltimore Ravens

G Marshal Yanda

Buffalo Bills

DT Kyle Williams

Carolina Panthers

TE Greg Olsen

Chicago Bears

LB Sam Acho

Cincinnati Bengals

WR A.J. Green

Cleveland Browns

T Joe Thomas

Dallas Cowboys

CB Brandon Carr

Denver Broncos

LB DeMarcus Ware

Detroit Lions

S Glover Quin

Green Bay Packers

LB Julius Peppers

Houston Texans

LB Brian Cushing

Indianapolis Colts

RB Frank Gore

Jacksonville Jaguars

LB Paul Posluszny

Kansas City Chiefs

LB Derrick Johnson

Los Angeles Rams

DE Robert Quinn

Miami Dolphins

T Branden Albert

Minnesota Vikings

CB Terence Newman

New England Patriots

S Devin McCourty

New Orleans Saints

T Zach Strief

New York Giants

WR Victor Cruz

New York Jets

WR Brandon Marshall

Oakland Raiders

QB Derek Carr

Philadelphia Eagles

RB Darren Sproles

Pittsburgh Steelers

LB Arthur Moats

San Diego Chargers

QB Philip Rivers

San Francisco 49ers

T Joe Staley

Seattle Seahawks

WR Tyler Lockett

Tampa Bay Buccaneers

DT Gerald McCoy

Tennessee Titans

QB Marcus Mariota

Washington Redskins

QB Kirk Cousins

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.