Skip to main content

News | Washington Commanders -

Redskins Announce Roster Cuts

The Washington Redskins have announced the release of the following players:

  • Cliff Russell, WR
  • Jonathan Brewer, WR
  • Scott Cloman, WR
  • John Standeford, WR
  • Nic Clemons, DE
  • Greg White, DE
  • Norman Heuer, DT
  • Billy Strother, LB
  • Devin Lemons, LB
  • Kevin Mitchell, LB
  • Dwayne Morgan, OL
  • Michael Hall, CB
  • Ralph Brown, CB
  • Kevin Stemke, P

NFL rules stipulate that all NFL clubs must cut their roster down to 65 players by 4:00 pm ET, August 31. The Redskins have 11 roster exemptions, due to player participation in 2004 NFL Europe, meaning the team can keep 76 players on the roster as of Tuesday's deadline.

All NFL clubs must pare down their rosters to 53 by 4 p.m. ET on September 5. Thereafter, teams may sign a practice squad of eight players on September 6 after 12 p.m. ET.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.