Skip to main content

News | Washington Commanders -

Redskins Have Numerous Hall Of Fame Nominees For The Class Of 2019


The Pro Football Hall Of Fame on Thursday announced the 102 modern-era candidates that will be considered for enshrinement in Canton, Ohio, to be part of the Class of 2019.

The roster of nominees consists of 47 offensive players, 39 defensive players, five special teams players and 11 coaches. With league rules stating that only eight players will be eligible to earn a gold jacket, the list of formidable competitors is sizeable, to say the least.

Among those nominated, several belong to the list of the 80 Greatest Redskins, including wide receiver Gary Clark, running back Earnest Byner, kick and punt returner Brian Mitchell, offensive tackle Chris Samuels, running back Clinton Portis and defensive coordinator/head coach Richie Petitbon.

In his first year of eligibility, linebacker London Fletcher also made the list of nominees.

Also nominated were nine players and coaches that spent parts of their careers with the Redskins, including quarterback Donovan McNabb (2010), running back Shaun Alexander (2008), defensive back Troy Vincent (2006), running back/wide receiver/returner Eric Metcalf (2001), cornerback Champ Bailey (1999-2003), fullback Larry Centers (1999-2000), wide receiver/returner Henry Ellard (1994-1998), linebacker Carl Banks (1993), linebacker Wilber Marshall (1988-1993), and offensive line coach Jim Hanifan (1990-1996).

These Modern-era nominees will be reduced to 25 semifinalists in November and then cut to 15 finalists in January until the official selection takes place before the Super Bowl.

It should be noted that in August, the Pro Football Hall of Fame senior committee selected former Kansas City Chiefs safety Johnny Robinson as its one senior nominee for the Class of 2019. Redskins tackle Joe Jacoby is now eligible for this group and will hope to be selected next year.

To see the entire list of this year's nominees, view the official press release here.