Skip to main content

News | Washington Commanders -

Redskins Name S DeAngelo Hall As Team's Ed Block Courage Award Recipient


LOUDOUN COUNTY, Va. – The Washington Redskins announced today that they have named safety DeAngelo Hall the winner of the team's 2017 Ed Block Courage Award. The honor is given annually to a player from each National Football League team who displays extraordinary courage in the face of adversity.

Hall missed multiple games in each of the last three seasons – including the majority of the 2014 and 2016 campaigns – while fighting Achilles, toe and knee injuries. His 2014 season ended prematurely after three games after he suffered a ruptured left Achilles tendon, and last season, he was limited to three games after suffering a torn ACL in his right knee.

The Redskins activated Hall from their Reserve/Physically Unable to Perform list on Nov. 3, as the 14th-year NFL veteran returned to action in the team's 17-14 win against the Seattle Seahawks in Week 9.

"DeAngelo has been remarkably resilient through a number of tough injuries," Redskins Head Athletic Trainer Larry Hess said. "Throughout various rehabilitation processes in the last few years, he has been a true professional as exemplified by his commitment, his hard work and his dedication to return to the playing field with his teammates."

Hall, who will turn 34 during Sunday's contest against the New Orleans Saints, has appeared in 103 career regular season games with the Redskins since joining the team in 2008. He is one of nine defensive backs in team history to appear in 100 career regular season games with the Redskins, and he is currently the longest-tenured player on the team's roster.

The Courage Award is named after Ed Block, the longtime head athletic trainer of the Baltimore Colts who was a pioneer in his profession and a respected humanitarian. The inaugural Ed Block Courage Award was presented in 1978 to Baltimore Colts defensive end Joe Ehrmann. Following the Colts' departure from Baltimore in 1984, the scope of the award expanded to include one player from every team in the NFL.     


  • 2017 DeAngelo Hall
  • 2016 Niles Paul
  • 2015 Morgan Moses
  • 2014 Keenan Robinson
  • 2013 Robert Griffin III
  • 2012 Kory Lichtensteiger
  • 2011 Stephen Bowen
  • 2010 Ma'ake Kemoeatu
  • 2009 Phillip Daniels
  • 2008 Reed Doughty
  • 2007 Marcus Washington
  • 2006 Randy Thomas
  • 2005 Khary Campbell
  • 2004 Brandon Noble
  • 2003 Fred Smoot
  • 2002 Chris Samuels
  • 2001 Cory Raymer
  • 2000 James Thrash
  • 1999 Tre' Johnson
  • 1998 Darrell Green
  • 1997 James Jenkins
  • 1996 Ed Simmons
  • 1995 Keith Taylor
  • 1994 Mark Schlereth
  • 1993 Art Monk
  • 1992 Anthony Johnson
  • 1991 Donnie Warren
  • 1990 Joe Jacoby
  • 1989 Neil Olkewicz
  • 1988 Doug Williams
  • 1987 Mel Kaufman
  • 1986 Darryl Grant
  • 1985 Ken Huff
  • 1984 Mark May
This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content