Skip to main content

News | Washington Commanders -

Vernon Davis Nominated For Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award


Vernon Davis has been nominated for the fourth Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award, which will be selected based on current player vote and announced on Feb. 3, 2018.

Washington Redskins tight end Vernon Davis is one of 32 player nominees for the 2017 Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award. 

According to a press release from the NFL, the award is presented each year to a player who best demonstrates the qualities of on-field sportsmanship, including fair play, respect for the game and opponents, and integrity in competition.

Each NFL team nominated a player for the award, and Davis will represent the Redskins.

The winner of the award will be determined by a vote of current NFL players. Additionally, a panel of former players from the NFL Legends Community will sit down and select eight finalists (four from each conference).

Those eight finalists will be listed on the Pro Bowl ballot under a "NFL Sportsmanship Award" category when the players sit down to make their selections for the annual all-star game. Each team's player will have to submit a consensus vote for their choice on the award.

The winner will be announced during the NFL Honors show on Saturday, Feb. 3 on NBC, the night before Super Bowl LII is played.

He will receive a $25,000 donation from the NFL Foundation to a charity of his choice.

The winner will also receive a trophy that represents the important role that sportsmanship plays in the game and how players demonstrate integrity and honor on the field and serve as role models for football players at all levels.

Larry Fitzgerald of the Arizona Cardinals won the inaugural award while former Oakland Raiders safety Charles Woodson was the announced winner in 2015.

Indianapolis Colts running back Frank Gore was the named the award-winner last year.

Below are all 32 nominees for the award:



Arizona Cardinals

CB Patrick Peterson

Atlanta Falcons

S Ricardo Allen

Baltimore Ravens

QB Joe Flacco

Buffalo Bills

LB Lorenzo Alexander

Carolina Panthers

LB Luke Kuechly

Chicago Bears

RB Benny Cunningham

Cincinnati Bengals

DE Carlos Dunlap

Cleveland Browns

T Joe Thomas

Dallas Cowboys

C Travis Frederick

Denver Broncos

LB Von Miller

Detroit Lions

DT Haloti Ngata

Green Bay Packers

S Morgan Burnett

Houston Texans

P Shane Lechler

Indianapolis Colts

WR T.Y. Hilton

Jacksonville Jaguars

LB Paul Posluszny

Kansas City Chiefs

QB Alex Smith

Los Angeles Chargers

TE Antonio Gates

Los Angeles Rams

G Rodger Saffold

Miami Dolphins

G Jermon Bushrod

Minnesota Vikings

DE Brian Robison

New England Patriots

WR Matthew Slater

New Orleans Saints

QB Drew Brees

New York Giants

T Justin Pugh

New York Jets

QB Josh McCown

Oakland Raiders

QB Derek Carr

Philadelphia Eagles

TE Brent Celek

Pittsburgh Steelers

DE Cameron Heyward

San Francisco 49ers

T Joe Staley

Seattle Seahawks

DE Cliff Avril

Tampa Bay Buccaneers

DT Gerald McCoy

Tennessee Titans

QB Marcus Mariota

Washington Redskins

TE Vernon Davis

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.