Skip to main content

News | Washington Commanders -

Brian Mitchell, Joe Jacoby Among 94 Hall Of Fame Nominees


The Pro Football Hall of Fame released a list of candidates for potential selection in 2017, and four of the 80 Greatest Redskins are among them.

The Pro Football Hall of Fame on Wednesday evening announced 94 modern era candidates for possible enshrinement into Canton's hallowed halls with the class of 2017.

Among the 94 are four of the 80 Greatest Redskins: tackles Jim Lachey and Joe Jacoby, returner/running back Brian Mitchell and defensive coordinator/head coach Richie Petitbon.

Jacoby, of course, has been awfully close over the last few years and 2017 may finally be the year that he hears his name called.

An undrafted free agent out of Louisville in 1981, Jacoby would go on to appear in four Pro Bowls and was twice (1983, 1987) named a first-team All-Pro. He was also selected to the NFL's 1980's All-Decade Team while pave the way for Washington to appear in three Super Bowls.

At 32 years old in 1991, Jacoby appeared in 13 games with nine starts as the Redskins went on to win another Super Bowl.

Like Jacoby, Lachey was part of the Redskins' famed "Hogs" offensive line. After short stints with the San Diego Chargers and Los Angeles Rams, the 1985 first-round pick signed with the Redskins in 1988 and went on to start 85 games in Washington.

He was selected as a first-team All-Pro twice (1990, 1991) during his time in burgundy and gold.

Mitchell is easily one of the best returners in NFL history, as he racked up nearly 20,000 return yards in his career, the first 10 seasons coming as a member of the Redskins.

From 1994-98, Mitchell recorded at least 1,000 kickoff return yards. He finished his time in Washington just one yard short of 5,000 punt return yards as well while scoring seven touchdowns.

During those golden Redskins years, Petitbon was the team's defensive coordinator. From 1981-92, the Redskins finished in the top 10 in total defense six times.

He was also the Redskins' head coach during the 1993 season.

Others who have been announced as candidates and played for the Redskins at some point in their careers include Larry Center, Eric Metcalf, Henry Ellard, Shaun Alexander, Donovan McNabb, Jason Taylor, Carl Banks and Troy Vincent.

The list will be trimmed down to 25 semifinalists in November and then 15 finalists in January.

On Saturday, Feb. 4, 2017, in Houston, the selection committee will determine who completes the class of 2017.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.