Skip to main content

News | Washington Commanders -

London Fletcher Elected Into College Football Hall Of Fame


While Redskins great London Fletcher won't be part of the 2019 Pro Football Hall of Fame class, the linebacker will still be inducted later this year as a member of the College Football Hall of Fame.

The National Football Foundation and College Hall Of Fame announced Monday that Fletcher, who had a prolific career at John Carroll University, will be part of a class featuring 13 players and two coaches.

According to the release, the 2019 College Football Hall of Fame Class will be officially inducted during the 62nd NFF Annual Awards Dinner on Dec. 10, 2019, at the New York Hilton Midtown. Fletcher, from the class of 1998, will be the first graduate of John Carroll University to be inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame.

Fletcher joins a class that includes Joe Thomas (Wisconsin), Troy Polamalu (USC), Vince Young (Texas), Raghib "Rocket" Ismail (Notre Dame), Terrell Buckley (Florida State), Rickey Dixon (Oklahoma), Jacob Green (Texas A&M), Torry Holt (NC State), Darren McFadden (Arkansas), Jake Plummer (Arizona State), Lorenzo White (Michigan State) and Patrick Willis (Mississippi). The coaches are Joe Taylor (Howard, Virginia Union, Hampton, Florida A&M) and Dennis Erickson (Idaho, Wyoming, Washington State, Miami Florida, Oregon State, Arizona State).

During his time at John Caroll, Fletcher was a two-time First Team All-American and Football Gazette's 1997 Division III Linebacker of the Year. In his senior season, he helped JCU win its first playoff game in school history and was named the Ohio Athletic Conference most outstanding linebacker in 1997.

Over his entire college career, he recorded 386 tackles, 37 tackles for loss, 14 sacks and three interceptions along with two touchdowns. During his senior year, he collected 202 tackles, a single-season school record.

The school officially retired his No. 3 jersey in 2017 as part of JCU honoring of the 1997 season.

Fletcher, of course, would go on to earn four Pro Bowl selections after joining the Redskins and finished his NFL career with 215 consecutive games started, which are tied for the sixth-most in league history and the most by a linebacker.

"We are extremely proud to announce the 2019 College Football Hall of Fame Class," said Archie Manning, NFF Chairman and a 1989 College Football Hall of Famer from Mississippi. "Each of these men has established himself among the absolute best to have ever played or coached the game, and we look forward to immortalizing their incredible accomplishments. The Class will be part of a momentous year as we celebrate the 150th anniversary of college football this season."

Related Content