Skip to main content

News | Washington Commanders -

Springs Nominated For Community Award


Veteran cornerback Shawn Springs has been an outstanding player for the Redskins in his two seasons in Washington, D.C. Now Springs has been lauded for his leadership in terms of giving back to the community.

Springs has been named the Redskins' nominee for the NFL's Walter Payton Man of the Year Award. The award is given annually to the NFL player who makes significant impacts in NFL competition and in community service.

Since coming over from the Seattle Seahawks in 2004, Springs, the nine-year NFL veteran, has been involved in many events for the Washington Redskins Charitable Foundation.

Last October, for instance, Springs was a keynote speaker at the Redskins Charitable Foundations's "Fourth & Life Forum" at FedExField. He addressed more than 500 freshmen student-athletes from local high schools, encouraging them to take their academic work seriously.

Said Springs: "When I was young, I had no idea I would become a pro football player. I knew I had to do well in school because if I didn't I would be limiting myself. I wouldn't be giving myself the opportunity to be successful."

Later in the 2005 season, Springs also was involved in the "Skins' Santa Shoppe" event on Dec. 13 as the locker rooms at FedExField were transformed into Santa's workshop. Springs and other Redskins distributed gifts to needy children.

Quite naturally, the greater Washington, D.C., community is of utmost importance to Springs. He grew up in Silver Spring, Md., and was an all-state performer at Springbrook High.

In the past year, Springs moved his foundation, "Springs for Life," from Seattle to the Washington, D.C., area. He continues to be involved in public service TV announcements (with local TV personality Leon Harris) and donates funds to needy inner city youth based on his interceptions and those of his Redskins teammates.

In addition, Springs is involved in the fight against diabetes, an illness from which his father, former Dallas Cowboys running back Ron Springs, has suffered.

The Man of the Year Award is the only NFL award that recognizes player off-the-field community service as well as playing excellence. One player from each of the league's 32 teams are nominated.

Last year's winner, Atlanta's Warrick Dunn, received $25,000 to donate to his selected charity. All other nominees received $1,000 to be donated to their charities. The 2004 nominee for the Redskins was rookie H-Back Chris Cooley.

The 2005 winner will be announced during a press conference on Super Bowl weekend.

As a Redskin in 2004, Springs led the team with six sacks and five interceptions. Only three players in NFL history have been the sacks and interceptions leader for their team. Springs joined linebackers Junior Seau of San Diego and Joey Porter of Pittsburgh.

In 2005, Springs played at a high level each week, starting 15 games and finishing with 51 tackles in the regular season. His key play came in the Week 12 game versus San Diego. He intercepted Drew Brees late in the fourth quarter of a game the Chargers won 23-17 in overtime.

Among Redskins, Darrell Green (1996) and Joe Theismann (1982) are past winners of the NFL's Man of the Year Award, re-named in 1999 to honor Payton, the former Chicago Bears great.

Past Winners, NFL Man of the Year Award

2004: Warrick Dunn, Atlanta Falcons

2003: Will Shields, Kansas City Chiefs

2002: Troy Vincent, Philadelphia Eagles

2001: Jerome Bettis, Pittsburgh Steelers

2000: Derrick Brooks, Tampa Bay, and Jim Flanigan, Chicago

1999: Cris Carter, Minnesota Vikings

1998: Dan Marino, Miami Dolphins

1997: Troy Aikman, Dallas Cowboys

1996: Darrell Green, Washington Redskins

1995: Boomer Esiason, New York Jets

1994: Junior Seau, San Diego Chargers

1993: Derrick Thomas, Kansas City Chiefs

1992: John Elway, Denver Broncos

1991: Anthony Munoz, Cincinnati Bengals

1990: Mike Singletary, Chicago Bears

1989: Warren Moon, Houston Oilers

1988: Steve Largent, Seattle Seahawks

1987: Dave Duerson, Chicago Bears

1986: Reggie Williams, Cincinnati Bengals

1985: Dwight Stephenson, Miami Dolphins

1984: Marty Lyons, New York Jets

1983: Rolf Benirschke, San Diego Chargers

1982: Joe Theismann, Washington Redskins

1981: Lynn Swann, Pittsburgh Steelers

1980: Harold Carmichael, Philadelphia Eagles

1979: Joe Greene, Pittsburgh Steelers

1978: Roger Staubach, Dallas Cowboys

1977: Walter Payton, Chicago Bears

1976: Franco Harris, Pittsburgh Steelers

1975: Ken Anderson, Cincinnati Bengals

1974: George Blanda, Oakland Raiders

1973: Len Dawson, Kansas City Chiefs

1972: Willie Lanier, Kansas City Chiefs

1971: John Hadl, San Diego Chargers

1970: Johnny Unitas, Baltimore Colts

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.