Skip to main content

History by the Decades

History by the Decades

Presented By

The 1990s 

Dec. 26, 1999

East Champs: Redskins overcome a 10-point fourth quarter deficit to defeat the San Francisco 49ers 26-20 when Larry Centers scooted into the end zone less than two minutes into overtime for the game-winner. Quarterback Brad Johnson completes 32-of-47 passes for a club-record 471 yards. The win gives the Redskins their first NFC East crown since 1991.

Nov. 21, 1999

FedExField: The Washington Redskins partner with Federal Express Corporation, re-naming Jack Kent Cooke as FedExField.


May 25, 1999

Redskins Sold: Daniel M. Snyder gains unanimous approval (31-0) from league owners to become the fourth owner in franchise history. Snyder buys the team for a record $800 million—the most ever for an American sports franchise.

Dec. 27, 1998

B-Mitch: Brian Mitchell finished the season leading the NFL in total combined net yards for the fourth time, joining Hall of Famer Jim Brown as the only players in league history to lead the league in the category four times.

Career Stats Leaders

Dec. 13, 1997

All-Time Green: Cornerback Darrell Green plays in his 217th career game as a Redskin, breaking Monte Coleman's record for games played.

Sept. 14, 1997

Big Jack: Redskins christen Jack Kent Cooke Stadium in style with a 19-13 overtime win over the Arizona Cardinals. Rookie defensive end Kenard Lang forces a fumble in overtime that is recovered by linebacker Derek Smith at the Cardinals' 35-yard line. Two plays later, quarterback Gus Frerotte connects on a 40-yard scoring strike to a leaping Michael Westbrook in the end zone.

April 6, 1997

Cooke Passes Away: Jack Kent Cooke, the second owner in Redskins history, dies of congestive heart failure at the age of 84. His estate, headed by son John Kent Cooke, Sr., takes over ownership of the Redskins. At his memorial service, John Kent Cooke, Sr., announces the new stadium in Prince George's County will be called Jack Kent Cooke Stadium.

Dec. 22, 1996

Allen Excels: Terry Allen rushed past John Riggins' single-season rushing record, gaining 1,353 yards. He also led the NFL with 21 touchdowns.

Dec. 16, 1996

So Long, RFK: Redskins play their final home game at Robert F. Kennedy Memorial Stadium against the Dallas Cowboys. With Redskins greats from the past on hand, the Redskins defeat the Cowboys 37-10. The Redskins finished 173-102-3 at RFK, including 11-1 in the playoffs.


March 13, 1996

New Stadium: Redskins owner Jack Kent Cooke, Maryland Gov. Parris N. Glendening and Prince George's County executive Wayne Curry sign a contract paving the way for the immediate start of construction for the new home of the Redskins in Prince George's County.

Oct. 9, 1994

Coleman's Longevity: Linebacker Monte Coleman plays in his 206th career game as a Redskin, breaking Art Monk's team record for games played. (Coleman retired at season's end with 216 games played.)

No Title

Feb. 2, 1994

Turner Hired: Norv Turner, offensive coordinator of the Dallas Cowboys, becomes the 22nd head coach in Redskins history.

March 5, 1993

Gibbs Resigns: After 12 seasons guiding the Redskins to four Super Bowls, three Super Bowl championships, 16-5 playoff mark and a 140-65 record, Joe Gibbs steps down as head coach. Gibbs is replaced by long-time Redskins defensive coordinator Richie Petitbon.


Oct. 12, 1992

Monk No. 1: Art Monk becomes the NFL's all-time leading pass receiver against the Denver Broncos on Monday Night Football. His 820th career reception was a 10-yarder with 3:12 remaining in the fourth quarter.

Aug. 24, 1992

Redskins Park: The franchise move into their new training complex set on a picturesque 160 acres in Loudoun County, Virginia. The complex contains more than 70,000 square feet to compliment four practice fields.

Feb. 2, 1992

Pro Bowl: Redskins set a club record by sending eight players to the Pro Bowl: Jim Lachey and Darrell Green are named starters, while Gary Clark, Chip Lohmiller, Charles Mann, Earnest Byner and Mark Schlereth also were named to the NFC squad.

Pro Bowlers

Jan. 26, 1992

World Champs: Redskins claim their third Super Bowl win under Joe Gibbs. The Redskins dominate the Buffalo Bills 37-24 and Mark Rypien is named Super Bowl MVP, going 18-of-33 for 292 yards and two touchdowns. The defense shuts down the high-powered Bills offense, limited Thurman Thomas to 10 yards and sacked Jim Kelly five times.

Jan. 12, 1992

NFC Champs: For the fourth time under Joe Gibbs, and the fifth time in franchise history, the Redskins return to the Super Bowl with a 41-10 win over Detroit in the NFC title game.

Super Bowl XXVI

The Redskins capped perhaps the greatest season in franchise history on Jan. 26, 1992. In a 37-24 win over the Buffalo Bills in Super Bowl XXVI at the Minneapolis Metrodome,

Dec. 22, 1991

Hog Protection: In 16 games, the "Hogs" allowed a league low and club record nine sacks—the third lowest total in NFL history.

Dec. 22, 1991

Class Act: Art Monk becomes only the second player in NFL history to catch 800 passes after logging five passes in the season finale at Philadelphia.

Art Monk (Getty Images)

Nov. 17, 1991

Perfect Start: For the first time in franchise history, the Redskins opened the year with 11 straight victories following a 41-14 dismantling of the Pittsburgh Steelers. (The streak would end Nov. 24 against the Dallas Cowboys in a 24-21 loss.)

Jan. 5, 1991

Playoff Win: The Redskins pushed their playoff record to 12-3 under Joe Gibbs with a 20-6 win over the Philadelphia Eagles at Veterans Stadium—avenging a 28-14 loss on Monday Night Football earlier in the season at the Vet.

Nov. 18, 1990

Topping 700: Art Monk became only the third player in NFL history to catch 700 passes when he hauled in four receptions against the New Orleans Saints at RFK Stadium.

Art Monk (Getty Images)

Nov. 4, 1990

Lion Comeback: The Redskins equaled the greatest comeback in club history with a 41-38 overtime win at Detroit. Down by 21 points in the third quarter and 17 points entering the fourth quarter, Jeff Rutledge rallied the Redskins by passing for 363 second-half yards. The game-winning points came on Chip Lohmiller's 34-yard field goal in overtime.