Skip to main content

News | Washington Commanders -

Adrian Peterson Nominated For Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award 


Adrian Peterson is the Washington Redskins' nominee for the sixth-annual Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award, which recognizes players around the NFL who exemplify outstanding sportsmanship on the field.

In addition to his Hall of Fame statistics -- Peterson currently ranks sixth in NFL history in rushing yards and fifth in touchdowns -- the 34-year-old bruiser has been a role model since signing with Washington in August of 2018.

Speaking to reporters Thursday, interim head coach Bill Callahan listed all of the reasons Peterson is deserving of the award. Peterson is well-liked and well-rounded, passionate about football and influential on the field and in the locker room. His work ethic is unparalleled and speaks for itself, Callahan added, while his career accomplishments demand even more respect.

"There's nothing you can't ask him that he wouldn't do," Callahan said about Peterson. "He's first in line in every drill, he's first forward in the meeting room, he sits right in front of the room when the plays are being installed, and it's like he's a rookie on Day 1 just looking at the first play going in for the install of the week. There are so many things that impress me about Adrian."

Peterson has been especially valuable for the Redskins' younger running backs. When he's not carrying the Redskins' rushing load -- he's averaged more than 18.75 carries for 95.75 yards the past four games -- he's mentoring fellow rusher Derrius Guice, helping to prepare him for his first game action in nearly two months.

After missing all of his rookie campaign with a torn ACL, Guice tore his meniscus in the regular season opener and has been sidelined ever since. But throughout the recovery process, Guice has been able to lean on Peterson, who has suffered both injuries throughout his 13-year career.

Guice returned to practice a few weeks ago and is eligible to play Sunday against the New York Jets. Barring any setbacks, Guice and Peterson will both be active for a regular season game for the first time this year.

"It's going to be exciting," Peterson said Wednesday when asked about him and Guice taking the field together. "We were just kind of talking about it today as we were walking off the field. Just having a guy that whenever you come out, you can kind of relax because you know the guy that's in there is going to get the job done. It's going to be interesting to see how things go."

Peterson is one of 32 players nominated (one from each team) for the sportsmanship award, which was created in 2014 in honor of the late founding owner of the Pittsburgh Steelers and Pro Football Hall of Famer Art Rooney Sr.

Here is a list of all of the Redskins' nominees since the award's inception:

Table inside Article
Year Player
2014 S Ryan Clark
2015 RB Alfred Morris
2016 QB Kirk Cousins
2017 TE Vernon Davis
2018 TE Vernon Davis
2019 RB Adrian Peterson

"[Peterson] is a great person, he's a great football player and he exemplifies what it takes to be that pivotal role model out in the community as well as on the team," Davis said. "He's showed it year in and year out and he's been recognized for it, so I think it's a wonderful achievement for him."

A panel of former players from the NFL Legends Community will select eight finalists (four in the AFC and four in the NFC). The finalists will be listed on the Pro Bowl ballot under the Sportsmanship Award category, and a winner will be determined by a vote of current NFL players, which will occur Friday, Dec. 13.

The award is presented each year to an NFL player who best demonstrates the qualities of on-field sportsmanship, including fair play, respect for the game and opponents, and integrity in competition. Past winners include wide receiver Larry Fitzgerald (2014), cornerback Charles Woodson (2015), running back Frank Gore (2016), linebacker Luke Kuechly (2017) and quarterback Drew Brees (2018).

Related Content