Skip to main content

News | Washington Commanders -

Four Former Redskins Named Finalists For NFL 100 All-Time Team


Four former Redskins have been named finalists for the NFL 100 All-Time Team. The league announced its cornerback, safety and special teams finalists Monday night, with Darrell Green, Ken Houston, Brian Mitchell and Paul Krause all making the list at their respective positions.

Green, a Pro Football Hall of Famer and Redskins Ring of Fame member, is one of 16 cornerback finalists thanks to a legendary 20-yard career in Washington. Known for his agelessness and elite speed, Green was a seven-time Pro Bowler, four-time first-team All-Pro and won two Super Bowls between 1983-2002. He's currently the Redskins' all-time leader with 54 interceptions, while no other Redskins has corralled more than 36 interceptions. He was inducted into the Hall of Fame in 2008.

Houston and Krause, both of whom are also Hall of Famers, are among 14 finalists at the safety position.

Houston, a 12-time All-Pro and Redskins Ring of Fame member, played in Washington from 1973-1980 and made the Pro Bowl in seven of his eight seasons there. He was inducted into the Hall of Fame in 1986.

The Redskins drafted Krause in the second round of the 1964 NFL Draft, and he spent his first four seasons there before playing the rest of his career with the Minnesota Vikings. He made the Pro Bowl eight times and was inducted into the Hall of Fame in 1998.

Mitchell, a Redskins Ring of Fame member and one of the 80 Greatest Redskins, established himself as one of the best return specialists in NFL history from 1990-2003. His 23,330 all-purpose yards are second all-time behind Jerry Rice, while his 13 special teams touchdowns are also second behind Devin Hester.

Mitchell, one of 12 special teams finalists for the all-time team, played his first 10 seasons with the Redskins, where he was named a first-team All-Pro three times and is still the franchise's all-time leader in punt return yards (3,476) and kick return yards (9,586) by a wide margin.

Six special teams players, six safeties and seven cornerbacks will make the NFL 100 All-Time Team. Tune in Friday at 8 p.m. on NFL Network to see if some of your beloved Redskins made the final cut.

(In addition to those mentioned above, former Redskins Champ Bailey (cornerback), Bruce Smith (defensive end), Deacon Jones (defensive end) and Sam Huff (linebacker) were also finalists at their respective positions. Congrats to all of whom have been nominated for the NFL 100 All-Time Team!)

Related Content