Skip to main content

News | Washington Commanders -

Redskins Select Alabama Defensive Lineman Da'Ron Payne


The Redskins continue to strengthen their defensive line, as Washington has selected Alabama's Daron Payne with the No. 13-overall pick in the 2018 NFL Draft.

For the second year in a row, the Washington Redskins have selected an Alabama defensive lineman with their first selection in the NFL Draft.

With the No. 13-overall pick in the first round of the 2018 NFL Draft, the Redskins selected Da'Ron Payne, who will be reunited with former college teammates Jonathan Allen and Ryan Anderson in Washington.

Payne, 20, joins the Redskins after an illustrious career at Alabama, highlighted by a first-team All-SEC selection by The Associated Press last year.

In three seasons with the Crimson Tide, Payne appeared in 44 games and recorded 102 tackles (five for loss) along with six passes defensed, three sacks, two fumbles recovered, one fumble forced and one interception.

During his junior campaign, the 6-foot-2, 311 pounder recorded 53 tackles, 45 of which came against the run according to Alabama.

As a sophomore in 2016, the Birmingham, Ala., native recorded 36 tackles along with three quarterback pressures, one pass defensed and one fumble recovery, which he returned for a touchdown. Payne was named one of Alabama's Defensive Players of the Week against Mississippi State, as he recorded a then-career-high five tackles while holding the Bulldogs to less than 100 rushing yards.

Payne was named a freshman All-American by in 2017, as he finished his debut campaign with 13 tackles (three for loss) along with one pass defensed and one fumble forced.

During the 2018 NFL Combine, Payne recorded a 4.95-second 40-yard dash time while running the 20-yard shuttle drill in less than 4.75 seconds.

Payne joins Allen and veterans Ziggy Hood and Phil Taylor Sr. as first-round selections along Washington's defensive line.

Allen, of course, was selected with the No. 17-overall pick in the 2017 NFL Draft while Hood first entered the NFL as the No. 32-overall selection in the 2009 NFL Draft by the Pittsburgh Steelers.

Taylor, meanwhile, was selected by the Cleveland Browns in the first round of the 2011 NFL Draft.

Along with Allen, Hood and Taylor, Payne joins a group that includes Tavaris Barnes Sr., A.J. Francis, Montori Hughes, Matt Ioannidis, Anthony Lanier II, Terrell McClain, Stacy McGee and Ondre Pipkins.


  • Payne is the 467th selection made by the Redskins in the Common Draft era (since 1967) and the 29th first-round selection in that time frame. He is the 60th first-round selection by the Redskins all-time since the institution of the draft in 1936.
  • Payne's selection marks the second straight year in which the Redskins have selected a defensive player with their first selection of the draft (DL Jonathan Allen in 2016). The last time the Redskins selected defensive players with their first selection in consecutive drafts was in the 2013-14 drafts, in which the team selected CB David Amerson and LB Trent Murphy, respectively (both in the second round).
  • With the first-round selections of Allen and Payne across the 2017-18 drafts, the Redskins have now selected a defensive player in the first round of consecutive drafts for the first time since 2004 (S Sean Taylor) and 2005 (CB Carlos Rogers).
  • The selections of Payne and Allen – both University of Alabama products – in the first round of back-to-back years mark the first time the Redskins have selected players from the same school in the first round of consecutive drafts in the Common Draft era. It is the second such occurrence in the team's full draft history, including the selection of Oklahoma's George Thomas and Leon Heath in the 1950 and 1951 drafts, respectively.
  • Payne and Allen became the first set of college teammates from the same position group selected by the same NFL franchise in consecutive first rounds since the San Francisco 49ers took Oregon defensive linemen Arik Armstead and DeForest Buckner in the 2015-16 drafts, respectively.
  • Payne is the 10th defensive player selected by the Redskins in the first round since 1999, joining CB Champ Bailey (1999), LB LaVar Arrington (2000), S Sean Taylor (2004), CB Carlos Rogers (2005), S LaRon Landry (2007), DE/LB Brian Orakpo (2009), LB Ryan Kerrigan (2011) and DL Jonathan Allen (2017). Nine of the 10 defensive players selected by the Redskins in the first round in that time frame have earned at least one Pro Bowl selection during their career. The lone exception – Allen – was limited to five games by a season-ending Lisfranc injury as a rookie last year.
  • Payne's selection marks the sixth time in the Common Draft era that the Redskins have selected a defensive lineman in the first round, joining Jonathan Allen (2017), Ryan Kerrigan (2011), Brian Orakpo (2009, transitioned to linebacker in 2010), Kenard Lang (1997) and Bobby Wilson (1991). The Redskins also selected Tracy Rocker (1989, third round), Markus Koch (1986, second round), Bob Slater (1984, second round), Duncan McColl (1977, fourth round) and Bill Brundige (1970, second round) with the team's first selections of each of the drafts listed.
  • With the selections of Payne and Allen, the Redskins have now used first-round selections on defensive linemen in consecutive drafts for the first time in the Common Draft era.
  • Payne is the 24th player from the University of Alabama selected by the Redskins all-time, joining B Riley Smith (1936), B Charley Holm (1939), E Sandy Sanford (1940), T Fred Davis (1941), G Ed Hickerson (1941), G Tony Leon (1943), B Bobby Jenkins (1945), T Fay Mills (1946), B Harry Gilmer (1948), B Lowell Tew (1948), T Dick Flowers (1949), E Ed White (1950), B Eddie Salem (1951), C Elliot Speed (1951), B Billy Hicks (1956), T Billy Neighbors (1962), E Tommy Brooker (1962), DB Steve Higginbotham (1972), DT Thomas Rayam (1990), T Chris Samuels (2000), G Arie Kouandjio (2015), DL Jonathan Allen (2017) and LB Ryan Anderson (2017). Alabama's 24 all-time selections by the Redskins are third-most from any school in franchise history, trailing only Notre Dame (34) and USC (30).
  • Payne's selection at No. 13 marks the fifth-highest the Redskins have selected a player from the University of Alabama, trailing B Harry Gilmer (No. 1 in 1948), B Riley Smith (No. 2 in 1936), T Chris Samuels (No. 3 in 2000) and B Lowell Tew (No. 4 in 1948).
  • Payne is the eighth Southeastern Conference product selected by the Redskins in the first round in the Common Draft era. The Redskins have now selected an SEC product in the first round of consecutive drafts for the first time since 1999 (Georgia CB Champ Bailey) and 2000 (Alabama T Chris Samuels).
  • Payne becomes the third player selected by the Redskins all-time with the No. 13 overall pick, joining FB Ray McDonald (1967) and DE/LB Brian Orakpo (2009).
This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content